The Envelope Please: The Voting Results from CCD's AGM

14 June 2012

For Immediate Release

On Saturday, 9 June 2012, Mary Ennis, the Chairperson of the CCD Nominating Committee, conducted the election of officers during the organization’s Annual General Meeting (AGM).  Tony Dolan was returned to the office of Chairperson for a second term.  Joining Tony on the Executive Committee are Pat Danforth, First Vice Chair; Steve Estey, Second Vice Chair; Marc Workman, Secretary; Anne McPhee, Treasurer; and Carmela Hutchison, Member-at-Large on the Executive. 

Pat Danforth was appointed to the CCD Council by the BC Coalition of People with Disabilities and is the Chairperson of the CCD Transportation Committee and a member of the CCD Human Rights Committee.  Steve Estey was elected to Council as a Member-at-Large and is the Chair of the CCD International Development Committee.  Marc Workman was appointed to the Council by the Alliance for Equality of Blind Canadians. Anne McPhee was appointed by the PEI Council of People with Disabilities.  Carmela Hutchison, who is from Alberta, was appointed by the DisAbled Women’s Network Canada/Réseau d'action des femmes handicapées.

The Council reappointed the following people to chair CCD’s Committees:

  • Pat Danforth: Transportation Committee
  • Steve Estey: International Development Committee
  • Marie White: Social Policy Committee
  • Dean Richert and Anne Levesque: Human Rights Committee
  • Dean Richert and Rhonda Wiebe: Ending of Life Ethics Committee
  • John Rae and Gary Birch: Access to Technology Committee

The Council agreed to have its next meeting in conjunction with End Exclusion 2012, which will be held in Ottawa, Ontario.  End Exclusion will begin at 7:00 pm on 28 November 2012 with a keynote address which will set the context for the next day’s focus on the outcomes of CCD’s research project, “Disabling Poverty/Enabling Citizenship”. To register for End Exclusion 2012, email The Council meeting will take place on 30 November 2012.  Planning for these events will be underway during the summer. Watch the CCD web site for more information about the End Exclusion 2012 program.


For more information contact:

Laurie Beachell, National Coordinator, Tel: 204-947-0303.